Mint Meringue Recipe

 One of my favourite hobbies is feeding people. I know every diet guru in the world will tell you that food is not love, but my friends, sometimes it is. When I want to tell my neighbours I appreciate them, I bake them cookies. When my friend found out her boyfriend was cheating, I baked her a pie. Why? Because it was a heartfelt way to tell her I care. And pie is delicious.

Tomorrow I am having missionaries over for dinner because I can’t stand the idea of people being away from their families so I cook for them. Anyway, I need a nice light dessert to serve with my stodgy American main (sloppy Joe’s) and I remembered mint meringues. They are light and airy and taste like wee gifts from heaven.  

All you need is:

2 egg whites

2/3 of a cup of sugar

1 cap peppermint extract

1 drop green food colouring

1 package milk chocolate chips

Beat egg whites until stiff, add sugar, extract, and colouring . Stir in chocolate chips Heat oven to 350F. Drop teaspoons onto a cookie sheet. Put them in the oven. Count to 10 , turn off the oven and leave in overnight. DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR UNTIL MORNING.

And that is it.

 Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

