Interview with Author Annie Lyons

Today I am delighted to welcome Annie Lyons. Her debut novel Not Quite Perfect is out now!

What does your writing day look like?

Children at school, washing machine on (for some reason the sound gets my head in the right place), mug of coffee (the caffeine gets my brain whirring) and a flashing cursor willing me to write. I am now in the habit of writing until lunchtime, doing social media and other bits after lunch and then being a mum from pick-up time…

 

What is the most you have written in a day?

3000 ish words?

 

Do you listen to music when you write?

Sadly no. Just the sound of the washing machine.

 

Who gets to read your work before it is published?

My husband and an elite team of book experts including my mother-in-law and a good friend who likes the same books I do.

 

If your child told you they wanted to be a writer, what advice would you give them?

My daughter already has a much more impressive body of work than I did at the age of eight. As for advice, I would say read as much and as widely as you can – it teaches you a lot.

 

Describe your heroine in five words.

 

I’m in an alliterative mood today so Emma is strong, single-minded, sexy, searching and stifled, whereas Rachel is frustrated, feisty, funny, frazzled and foolish.

 

In what way is she most like you?

 

Emma works in publishing (I did), Rachel has children (I do).

 

In what way is she different?

 

They both fail to see what they have until they’ve nearly lost it, whereas I try to remind myself every day.

 

Did you research this book? Discover anything interesting?

 

I thoroughly researched the drinking and shared the hangovers too (I suffer for my art).

 

 If your book was made into a movie, who would you cast in the starring roles?

 

Emma Watson as Emma and Rebecca Hall as Rachel.

 

What is your favourite meal? Calories don’t count.

 

Roast dinner with all the trimmings and a pudding afterwards, preferably crumble and custard.

 

 What is the most romantic thing someone has done for you?

 

My husband got a copy of Not Quite Perfect printed for me as a publication day present. I cried.

 

What would a perfect day for you look like?

 

Breakfast with the kids, a trip to the cinema if it’s raining or the beach if it’s sunny, a lazy afternoon in the garden with the papers or a book and dinner in the evening with my husband at our local Spanish restaurant. That’s possibly more than one day isn’t it?

 

What accent do you find the sexiest?

 

Cornish. I’m married to a Cornishman and I know which side my bread’s buttered.

 

Who is your celebrity crush?

 

David Tennant

 

Name the sexiest redheaded man.

 

Louis CK. Ok, so he’s a little tubby and nearly bald but funny is sexy and man, is he funny…

 

Check it out!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Not-Quite-Perfect-ebook/dp/B00DJ6QKEW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375011055&sr=8-1&keywords=annie+lyons

http://www.amazon.com/Not-Quite-Perfect-ebook/dp/B00DJ6QKEW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375011147&sr=8-1&keywords=annie+lyons

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Author Annie Lyons

Leave a Reply

