Q&A with Katlyn Duncan

Image

I am delighted to welcome the adorable author Katlyn Duncan to my blog. Her debut novel Soul Taken is out now from Carina UK

What does your writing day look like?  I don’t have a particular “writing day”. But my day consists of getting up quite early, getting coffee, checking my social media and pounding the keys for about an hour. Then I go to work, try and get some words down at lunch if I have time, come home, do household duties and spend the rest of the night writing, especially if I am on deadline.

What is the most you have written in a day? I think I clocked in around 6,000 in one day.

Do you listen to music when you write? Sometimes, it depends on my mood and if I am writing a particularly emotional scene. I have a lot of classical music that I put aside for specific scenes that help bring the story out of me.

Who gets to read your work before it is published? I have a few close friends that act as my CPs. They aren’t afraid to tell me what to fix and I love that.

If your child told you they wanted to be a writer, what advice would you give them? Go for it. Dream big or go home.

 

Describe your heroine in five words. Brave, intelligent, independent, stubborn, and beautiful

In what way is she most like you? We share a lot of the same physical traits, brunette hair and blue eyes, but I don’t see her *as* me. We do share an affinity for cemeteries.

In what way is she different? She is a lot braver and she challenges those around her, especially her boss. I’m a bit of an introvert and she is the polar opposite.

Did you research this book? Discover anything interesting. I didn’t research much for this book. I do enjoy stories about the after-life and this was my chance to make it my own. And I love the era that Maggie was human in so I did loosely base the flashbacks on that, but I’m no historical writer.

 If your book was made into a movie, who would you cast in the starring roles? Great question! I always “cast” my characters before I start writing so I will always think of them first if Soul Taken was ever going to be made into a movie. Okay, Maggie would be played by Sarah Hyland (Modern Family), Ally would be Lindsay Ellingson (VS model), and Cooper would be played by Chace Crawford. I don’t want to spoil the book any further than that!

What would is your favourite meal?   A giant grilled chicken gyro. If I could eat that every day I would.   

What is the most romantic thing someone has done for you? When my husband and I were dating in college he had gone home for the weekend. So I thought. He ended up coming back to the dorm and casually knocking on my door and when I saw him I was thrilled. We spent the whole weekend together. It was a small gesture but special to me.

What would a perfect day for you look like? My perfect day would be at the beach, reading, with the temperature around 80 so I don’t burn. Maybe a picnic too.

What accent do you find the sexiest? Scottish. Hands down. (see answer below)

Who is your celebrity crush? The biggest celebrity crush I’ve had for almost ten years is Gerard Butler. I would love to meet him someday and just give him a big hug. He looks like a good hugger. Plus he’s wicked talented.

Name the sexiest redheaded man. Oh goodness. Michael Fassbender I’d have to say. Yum

 

Kindle US: http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Taken-ebook/dp/B00CWL2C10/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369129308&sr=8-1&keywords=soul+taken+katlyn+duncan
Kindle UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Soul-Taken-Carina-ebook/dp/B00CWL2C10/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370694673&sr=8-1&keywords=soul+taken
Kobo:http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Soul-Taken/book-lvnKsIwj9EmwwF5funljjw/page1.html?s=wrEeFOp6jEWuSE8Y9MW2-g&r=1
Nook UK: http://uk.nook.com/ebooks/soul-taken-by-katlyn-duncan/9781472017093

.

Leave a Reply

